Astronomical League – Webmaster Award

The Astronomical League Board has approved the newest award to be handed out by the Astronomical League; it is the Webmaster Award. One award will be handed out each year to the Webmaster with the best club’s web site. With the increased popularity of the Internet, the web site is an important asset to astronomy clubs. Most web sites are designed, administered and updated by the club’s Webmaster. The purpose of the award is to acknowledge the club Webmaster who does an outstanding job of web site design and administration.


The Webmaster of any astronomy club that is a current member of the Astronomical League.

To Apply

The President of the astronomy club will submit the name of the Webmaster and the Website address before April 1.


The Website will be judged on the following.

  • Content
  • Ease of navigation
  • Ability to attract people


Each Website will be judged by a panel of astronomy related Webmasters and the award administrators.

The web sites will be judged prior to the Astronomical League Convention (ALCON), with the award recipient being announced at the convention.

Club Presidents, please send nominations no later than March 31 to or you can mail your nomination to the following address.

Webmaster Award Winners:

2003 Greg Piepol, Northern Virginia Astronomy club
2004 Don Taylor,  North Houston Astronomy Club
2005 John Hepler, Chester County Astronomical Society
2006 Drew Carhart, Naperville Astronomical Association
2007 Travis Swaim, Oklahoma City Astronomy Club
2008 Del Gordon, Huachuca Astronomy Club
2009 Richard Richins, Astronomical Society of Las Cruces
Richard Bell, Kalamazoo Astronomical Society
2010 Gabe Cardona, Texas Astronomical Society of Dallas
Larry Hubble, Harford County Astronomical Society
Jeffery McLaughlin, Houston Astronomical Society
Ken Slater, Springfield Telescope Makers
2014 Ward Vuillemot, Seattle Astronomical Society
2015 Shawn Kirchdorfer, Fort Worth Astronomical Society
2016 Gene Hanson, Milwaukee Astronomical Society
2017 Maurice Nelson, Austin Astronomical Society
2018 Shawn Loescher and Curt Lambert, Back Bay Amateur Astronomers
2019 Jim Hendrickson, Amateur Astronomical Society of Rhode Island
2020 (no award)
2021 Don Knabb, MERAL and ALCon ’21 Virtual
2022 Richard Bell, Kalamazoo Astronomical Society
2023 Bernard Arghiere, Astronomy Club of Asheville


Scroll to top